The Provoked Post for the Post-Mobile Epoch, or Bring-on the Internet of Things

I have stopped using my phone completely as of week 4. Nathan made the example of blogging about a day when you didn’t use your mobile phone in today’s lecture – like the faithful and obedient student (I am not) here is my response. That day is now everyday. My phone accesses the Web and it works perfectly. The reasons I have stopped using my phone are numerous and discussed below (again may not be what you guess): but let me just say that it feels pretty nice. Although it may be temporary.

The only con I have encountered is that I may need to buy a watch.

Until the technology becomes significantly more user-adapted and cheap I probably won’t get involved with them again. There is of course circumstances where I may need a phone, such as; if I choose to live in a remote place in the world in the near future, or if my family and friends place intense pressure on me to do so. But hopefully the era of incredibly cheap micro-processors is nearer than human genome modification and by that time my hat will do all the work of a mobile phone for me. The thing is my present lifestyle doesn’t require the communication specifically provided by my mobile phone – the convenience is no longer out-waying the expense and my interest has waned. Mobile phones just aren’t that interesting right now.

So, I don’t really need this kind of technology. My home internet is fine, I live near where I work and so walk there, my friends can reach me by…

Hang on, let me count the number of ways I can be instantly contacted… 5

Yep when at work, with friends, visiting family, at an art gallery, taking a walk or any of the other numerous things I may be doing I am around an hour or two away from getting your message. That is instant enough for anyone who does not have a neurotic need for constant social affirmation.

However, the major reason I have stopped using my phone is that I don’t intend to reside in Australia for any length of time after I finish this degree. Therefore a lengthy contract and expensive data-rate charges are a major deterrent. Assuming we all know that when you meet with friends out it is convenient finding each other and there is Google maps for when you get lost in this vastly complex city. Ok, so lets say if you have your phone you don’t have to prepare or research where you are going next and how to get there – just do it with the other hand on the steering wheel, hmm?

So, intrepid global adventurer tell me about your personal relationship with y0ur phone.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Elaine Ewe (30897232)
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 23:59:38

    Well, I have tried living without my phone dozens of time and yes, I survived! Either that or this is my ghost that is posting on your blog.

    I think most of us can survive without our mobile phones if we really have to, simply because the mobile phone is just a convergence of almost every technology: clock, radio, personal desktop, game console, and so on, so like you, you do not mind if you do not have a mobile phone. Personally, I use my phone for texting, calling, and the occasional listen to music on long train rides. It’s hardly worth the value of my mobile phone though, but then again, I think the best thing of owning a mobile phone is the security it gives by having it with you in your pocket.

    You talked of a neurotic need for constant social affirmation, and although you are skeptical of it, I think most people are afflicted by it. Our society just do not have time for anything anymore, and mobile phones are our way of staying connected. As I have mentioned earlier, the mobile phone is like a security blanket; one does not necessarily have to text or call or use it, but the fact that you have the chance to do so at any time is what I mean by staying connected.

    On the one hand I think we should not be completely technology dependent, but on the other, I think that since technology is here to stay, we might as well make the best of it rather than refusing it entirely.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

